St. Patrick Church School of Religious Education
K-8 Curriculum Overview


†   The goals of the Kindergarten program are to help young children discover their membership in a larger family, the Church. They are introduced to the stories of our tradition in the Bible, the family of saints and basic prayers. Families are asked to read with their children at home to help reinforce the concepts presented in class.

First Grade

†   The goals of the First Grade are to introduce students to a structured study of their faith. The concentration is on 1) helping them to begin to understand their creation by a loving God; 2) helping them to learn the formal prayers of the church and to begin a life of prayer; 3) helping them to understand their membership in the church.

o   By the end of First Grade, students will be expected to know the Sign of the Cross, Our Father, Hail Mary and Glory Be.

 Second Grade

†   The goals of the Second Grade curriculum focus on 1) the life and person of Jesus 2) how the church celebrates the sacraments in its liturgy; 3) how prayer and the sacraments can draw us closer to God. The children also prepare to celebrate the Sacrament of Reconciliation for the first time.  In addition to their text, children study from a supplemental book in class. Parents should reinforce the content of the book at home as well.   

o   By the end of Second Grade, students will be expected to know an Act of Contrition and the basic responses for the Mass. 

Third Grade

†   The Third Grade curriculum concentrates on what it means to belong to the Church. Themes taught in First and Second grades are repeated in greater depth, as the students are growing in their understanding. They specifically explore 1) how the Church functions; 2) what the Church believes in the Creed; 3) how the Church depends upon Scripture; 4) and will be able to pray the Rosary independently. The children also prepare to celebrate the Sacrament of the Eucharist for the first time.

o   By the end of Third Grade, students will be expected to know a prayer to say after receiving communion, the Apostles’ Creed, the prayers and structure of the Rosary, and be able to describe basic personnel (priest, bishop, etc.) and basic structures (parish, Vatican, etc.) in the Church.

Fourth Grade

†   The focus of the Fourth Grade curriculum is the foundation for morality in the Beatitudes and the Commandments. Students will 1) learn how our moral tradition is rooted in the Old and New Testaments; 2) what the Church teaches about how we should live our lives; 3) explore ways that they can “do good and avoid evil” in their everyday lives.

o   By the end of Fourth Grade, students will be able to list the Ten Commandments, the Beatitudes, the precepts of the church, the Corporal and Spiritual Works of Mercy, and the theological and cardinal virtues.  

Fifth Grade

†   The Fifth Grade curriculum concentrates on the sacraments and the liturgy of the Church. In addition, they will explore the Scriptures further. Students will 1) learn about each of the sacraments in more depth; 2) have a working familiarity with the liturgy and the liturgical year; 3) explore the life and message of St. Paul.

o   By the end of Fifth Grade, students will be able to list, describe and define each Sacrament, to list the basic parts of the Mass, to be able to describe the principal ministries in the Liturgy, the major seasons of the Church year and the holy days of obligation. They will also be able to recite the Nicene Creed.  

Sixth Grade

†    Sixth Grade focuses on the Old Testament. Students will 1) develop a working knowledge of the major themes of the Old Testament; 2) explore more about Judaism and the world of the Scriptures; 3) be able to describe the links between the Old Testament and the Christian tradition.

o   By the end of Sixth Grade students will be able to identify and describe in chronological order the major events in the Old Testament and the major events in life, death and resurrection of Jesus Christ. They will also be able to use the Psalms independently for prayer.  

Seventh Grade

†   The Seventh Grade focus is Christian morality, Jesus and Discipleship. The beginning of the year the students study a survey of the life of Jesus as it is told to us in the gospels, and also will pose the challenge of discipleship to the students. The second half of the year lays the foundation for a discussion about living a moral life and gives the students information about the Church’s guidance in moral decision-making The children also begin the formal preparation to receive the Sacrament of Confirmation. The children will learn the Prayer to the Holy Spirit. 

Eighth Grade

†     The Eighth Grade focus is the study of the Creed, The Acts of the Apostles, life in the church, a review of Catholic teaching and immediate preparation for confirmation. The review of the Creed, what the church believes, provides a foundation to profess that belief in the Sacrament of Confirmation. The second half of the year focuses on the ways that the Christian life is lived out by those who are fully initiated Christians.